EVENTS

IMG-20210308-WA0005 (1) (002).jpg

APRM 18th Anniversary Celebration

2021 marks the commemoration of the annual African Peer Review Mechanism #APRMDay which is celebrated both in Africa and the diaspora.  The 18th #APRMDay celebration is in line with the African Union theme of the year 2021 on Arts, Culture and Heritage: levers for building the Africa We Want. 

 

The African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) is Africa’s most innovative and ambitious initiative on governance, launched in 2003 by Member States of the African Union who accede voluntarily, for self- and peer-assessment of national governance policies and practices.

The APRM was founded at the time of transition from the Organization of African Unity to the African Union, at the beginning of the implementation of the Millennium Development Goals, which have since expired. The AU is now a fully matured institutional body, with most of its organs fully operationalized. The Sustainable Development Goals have since replaced the MDGs, and the AU has now developed a 50-year plan for Africa's renaissance known as Agenda 2063.

 

The African Union has observed that participation and inclusion of all stakeholders in the implementation and monitoring and evaluation of Agenda 2063 is one of the building blocks of for the success of the Agenda.

The African Youth Economic Forum (AYEF) is co-hosted by the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM), Youth Bridge Trust (YBT) and Reset Global People as part of African youth and Pan-African institutions proactive contributions towards the achievement of Agenda 2063 and 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (SDGs), information sharing and peer learning. Importantly, the hosting of the summit is part and parcel of commemorative events marking the 15 th anniversary of the coming into force of the Africa Youth Charter (AYC). 

 

The online event is scheduled commence on the 18-19th March 2021. 5AM ET | 11AM WAT | 12PM SAST | 1PM EAT. 1.1 

 

Center for Global Africa

Delaware State University

Phone: (302) 690-8407

1200 N. Dupont Highway

Dover, DE  19901

info@centerforglobalafrica.com